State Fireworks Laws - Montana (MT)


CONSUMER FIREWORKS

Specifically permitted

Items meeting the CPSC requirements, except for
items specifically prohibited (see below). Mail
orders prohibited.

Specifically prohibited

Skyrockets, roman candles, bottle rockets.

Selling period

June 24-July 5 and December 29-December 31.

Sale

Salesperson’s minimum age: 18 years. Wholesalers
permit required.

DISPLAY FIREWORKS

Display Permit

Apply to State Fire Marshal or to local authorities at
least 15 days before display date.

Insurance

Required in an amount considered adequate by the
State Fire Marshal or local authorities, not less than
$500, bond of $100,000 per display.

Operator

No license specifically required, operator must be
approved as “competent” by State Fire Marshal or
local authorities.

ENFORCING AUTHORITY

Fire Prevention & Investigation Bureau
303 N. Roberts- 3rd Floor
P.O. Box 201415
Helena, MT 59620-1415
406-444-2050
www.doj.state.mt.us

LAW NUMBER

Title 50-Chapter 37, Montana Code Amended